Chaîne Online News

Actualités en ligne / News On-Line

Australia Jeunes Chefs Rôtisseurs

National Final - Cairns, June 16, 2012

Congratulations to Western Australia’s Travis Simmonds. At 22 this young chef with Burswood Entertainment Complex beat a field of talented and more experienced competitors from other local Bailliages to win the Bailliage of Australia’s National Final of the Jeunes Chefs Rôtisseurs Competition. This was held at the Tropical North Queensland Institute of TAFE during the Grand Chapitre in Cairns this year.

With its combined 696 hotel room capacity, a 24-hour casino and a variety of other entertainment offerings on one site, the Burswood Entertainment Complex, situated on the eastern banks of the Swan River only minutes from the Perth’s Central Business District, is one of the most desirable conference and exhibition destinations in Australia.

To challenge the ingenuity and skills of the competitors, the famous “black box” of compulsory items included a pork rib, a whole Spangled Emperor, red cabbage, pear and chocolate.

Travis attributed his win to the mentorship and training given to him by Burswood’s Executive Sous Chef Sean Marco and Phil Westwood, Vice-Conseiller Culinaire of Western Australia, who lectures at Challenger TAFE). Both Sean and Phil went to Cairns to support Travis, as did Bailli Wayne Teo and Vice-Chargé de Presse Melvin Yeo (who is now Chargé de Presse for the Bailliage of Australia).

Travis will now represent Australia at the International Final being held in Berlin in September.

Melvin Yeo,
Chargé de Presse

List of Competitors by local Bailliage

Brisbane: Jarred Abbot - Queensland Parliament, Brisbane
Gold Coast: Luke Kelley - RockSalt Restaurant, Broadbeach
Great Barrier Reef: Daniel Peters (Runner-Up) - Pullman Hotel, Cairns
New South Wales: Joseph Astorga - The Observatory Hotel, Sydney
Victoria: Junpei Yamakoshi (Third Place) - PM24, Melbourne
Western Australia: Travis Simmonds (Winner) - Burswood Entertainment Complex, Burswood

The Kitchen Judges

Brian Down, President, Far North Australian Culinary Federation
Jos Thys, Far North Australian Culinary Federation
Alan Beggs, Lecturer, Cairns TAFE

The Tasting Judges

Ian Wade-Parker, Chevalier, Gold Coast
Phil Westwood, Vice-Conseiller Culinaire of Western Australia
Philip Mitchell, Cairns